News & Updates

Healthcare Credentialing 101: Types of Healthcare Credentials

The Types of Healthcare Credentials: Exploring the Landscape

In the broad and diverse industry of healthcare, professionals acquire a wide array of credentials to certify and demonstrate their qualifications and expertise. These credentials are key to verifying the competence and specialized knowledge of healthcare providers across various disciplines. Understanding the different types of healthcare credentials and the organizations that require credentialing is essential for healthcare leaders, executives, and the general public. This article, the second in our “Healthcare Credentialing 101” series, aims to provide a high-level overview of the diverse landscape of healthcare credentials.

Healthcare credentials encompass a range of designations, certifications, licenses, and degrees that healthcare professionals obtain to validate their proficiency in specific areas of practice. Let’s explore some of the most common types of healthcare credentials:

  1. Licensure: Licensure is a credential granted by a regulatory body, such as a state or provincial board, that permits individuals to legally practice a healthcare profession. Licensure requirements vary across jurisdictions and professions, ensuring that professionals meet the minimum standards set by the governing authority.
  2. Board Certification: Board certification is a credential obtained by healthcare professionals who have completed additional training and passed rigorous examinations in a specific medical specialty or subspecialty. These certifications are typically awarded by specialty boards or professional organizations and signify advanced knowledge and competence in a particular field.
  3. Professional Certifications: Professional certifications are credentials awarded by professional organizations or certifying bodies that demonstrate expertise in a specialized area of healthcare. These certifications validate a professional’s knowledge, skills, and adherence to specific standards of practice. Examples include Certified Medical Assistant (CMA), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), or Certified Coding Specialist (CCS).
  4. Academic Degrees: Academic degrees are formal credentials awarded by educational institutions upon completion of specific healthcare programs. These degrees vary in level and specialization, ranging from associate degrees to doctoral degrees. Examples include Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Doctor of Medicine (MD), Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.), and Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT).
  5. Privileges and Credentials for Allied Health Professionals: Allied health professionals, such as nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and physical therapists, often undergo credentialing processes specific to their disciplines. These credentials validate their specialized skills and qualifications, allowing them to practice within their respective scopes of practice.

It’s important to note that the organizations and entities requiring healthcare credentialing vary across the healthcare landscape. Here are a few examples:

  1. Hospitals and Healthcare Systems: Hospitals and healthcare systems often have their own credentialing processes to ensure that healthcare professionals meet specific standards before granting them privileges to practice within their facilities. These processes involve thorough evaluations of qualifications, background checks, and assessments of clinical competency.
  2. Health Insurance Providers: Health insurance companies often require credentialing for healthcare professionals who wish to participate in their networks. Credentialing ensures that providers meet specific quality standards and are eligible to receive reimbursement for services rendered to insured patients.
  3. Government Agencies: Government agencies, such as the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), may require healthcare providers to undergo credentialing to participate in government-funded healthcare programs. This helps ensure that providers meet the necessary criteria to deliver services to beneficiaries.
  4. Professional Associations and Societies: Many healthcare professional associations and societies offer their own credentialing programs to recognize specialized knowledge and skills within their respective fields. These credentials often denote advanced expertise and may enhance professional recognition and career opportunities.

Understanding the diverse types of healthcare credentials and the organizations that require credentialing is essential for maintaining high standards of care and patient safety. These credentials serve as indicators of a healthcare professional’s qualifications, expertise, and commitment to ongoing professional development. The credentialing process plays a crucial role in ensuring patient safety, improving the quality of patient care, and in protecting healthcare organizations against liability.

In conclusion, healthcare credentials come in various forms, including licenses, certifications, academic degrees, and specialized designations. They validate the competence and specialized knowledge of healthcare professionals across different disciplines. To learn how to optimize the credentialing process at your organization, book a demo of Acorn Credentialing Solutions at

Acorn Resources
Learn how we help

By: Megan Paauwe, MBA-HM Donna Goestenkors, CPMSM, EMSP Medical Services and Credentialing Professionals have long been an essential part of...
Introducing Haiyan Du, our Senior Software Engineer at Acorn Healthcare Credentialing Solutions. With a wealth of expertise in enterprise soft...
FARGO, N.D. (March 14, 2024) – Noridian Healthcare Solutions, LLC (Noridian), a leader in developing solutions for federal, state and co...

Join others who are obsessed with credentialing

Valuable information on new products & features events and credentialing news.

Choose a better credentialing partner